Write comments

WvWvW & Concerns etc.

Tue 14. Aug 2012, 11:16

Hihi Guys,

I have very little field experience from the beta weekends in GW2 from a PVP point of view, other than running around for an hour or so in WvW with some of you on a stress test which was fun though I was totally clueless :P

Going back to DAOC days, my favourite times were doing the roaming group and looking for fights. Was in a few alliances back then over the many years I played that game and mostly would be to inform of enemies or potential zergs/relic raids and so on.

I like to be in a smaller type of guild where everyone knows each other and is more tight knit hence why we joined Rare and we feel at home already plus have the same sort of ideals from a PVP point of view.

What does concern me to a degree is when I read about organising from an alliance point of view.

There is a new post up there I copy just a small portion:

"So, you simply work as a dummy for the commanders to work with.
You simply log into mumble, find a squad leader/commander, ask them what team to join, and you do so. After that u get to where u need to go, and ur in battle. U are not told why, u are simply told what to do.
And if the player wants to know more, he can go on the forums and get filled in on our strategy."

And the reply of "We are discussing this in the locked Officer/GM-section. Your ideas are very close to what we have made."

Now as I said at the start of my post, I have pretty much zero experience from a WvW point of view in the game and will learn as I play.

I am not a leader who wants to give directions all the time type of player but nor am I someone who wants to mindlessly log into mumble every night to be told what group to join and what position to hold either.